Canadian Institute of Public Health Inspectors 68th Annual General Meeting

Minutes for July 30, 2002 Fredericton, NB

- 1. Call to Order: 3:40 p.m.
- 2. Appointment of Officials:
 - a) Parliamentarian Brian Hatton
 - b) Sargeant-at-Arms Murray Lewis
 - c) Scrutineers Bernie Chrisp, Ken Cross, Tim Ness

Motion to approve, moved by Klaus Seeger, second by Shauna Dimock. All in favour. Carried.

3. Roll Call of Officers: Rob Bradbury (National President), Dean Sargeant (National Past-President), Claudia Kurzac (BC Branch President), Victor Mah (AB Branch President), Ken Cross (SK Branch President), Tim Ness (MB Branch President), Suzanne Lychowyd-Shaw (ON Branch President), Michael Florian (NS/PEI Branch President), Scott MacLean (NB Branch President), Paul Noseworthy (for Dion White NF/Lab), Debra Losito (Executive Assistant).

Regrets: Dion White (NF/Lab Branch President)

- 4. In Memoriam: John Gilmour.
- 5. Approval of Agenda: Motion: To approve agenda as presented, moved by Bernie Chrisp, second by Murray Lewis. All in favour. Carried.
- 6. Approval of the 67th Annual General Meeting Minutes: **Motion: To approve minutes as presented, moved by Tim Ness, second by Ken Cross. All in favour. Carried.**
- 7. Business Arising:
 - a) Appointment of Accountants: Motion: To accept MacCallum & Horn as Accountants, moved by Dean Sargeant, second by Rob Kielly. All in favour. Carried.
- 8. National President's Report: Motion: To accept President's report as presented, moved by Scott MacLean, second by Claudia Kurzac. All in favour. Carried.
- 9. Executive Director's Report: Motion: To accept Executive Director's report as presented, moved by Victor Mah, second by Scott MacLean. Questions. All in favour. Carried.
- 10. Branch Presidents' Reports:

NF/Lab (Paul Noseworthy for Dion White) – **Move acceptance of report by Paul Noseworthy, second by Cal Morgan.** All in favour. Carried. Paul to provide a signed copy.

NB (Scott MacLean) – Move acceptance of report by Scott MacLean, second by Tammy Carroll. Questions. All in favour. Carried.

NS/PEI (Michael Florian) – Move acceptance of report by Michael Florian, second by Doreen MacIntosh. Questions. All in favour. Carried.

ON (Suzanne Lychowyd-Shaw) – **Move acceptance of report by Suzanne Lychowyd-Shaw, second by Pam Scharfe.** [Ontario] Conference Binder available. **Questions. All in favour. Carried.**

SK (Ken Cross) – Move acceptance of report by Ken Cross, second by Murray Lewis. Questions. All in favour. Carried.

AB (Victor Mah) – Move acceptance of report by Victor Mah, second by Stephen Parker. All in favour. Carried.

BC (Claudia Kurzac) – Move acceptance of report by Claudia Kurzac, second by Dean Sargeant. All in favour. Carried.

MB (Tim Ness) – Move acceptance of report by Tim Ness, second by Ann Thomas. Questions. All in favour. Carried.

- 11. Chairman, Board of Certification Report: Motion: To accept report as presented, moved by Bernie Chrisp, second by Tim Ness. All in favour. Carried.
- 12. Board of Certification Report (Suzanne/Scott): Scott provided update. **Motion: To receive verbal report as presented.** Copies will be made available if requested. **Moved by Ron de Burger, second by Nick Losito. All in favour. Carried.**
- 13. Committee Reports
 - a) Nominations/Awards:

Alex Cross – Domenic Losito

Alexander Officer – Capital Health Authority, Interior Health Region Victoria BC

President's – Rich Bader

Honorary - Errol Borsky

Life Member Award – Murray Lewis

Motion to accept as presented at the Award's Luncheon, moved by Dean Sargeant, second by Tim Roark. All in favour. Carried.

- b) Finance (Claudia Kurzac): Motion: To accept report as presented, moved by Claudia Kurzac, second by Ken Cross. Claudia reviewed finances. All in favour. Carried.
- c) Membership (Suzanne Shaw): Motion: To accept report as presented, moved by Suzanne Lychowyd-Shaw, second by Klaus Seeger. Questions. All in favour. Carried.
- d) Constitution and Bylaws (Ken Cross):

- (i) Motion of Dues Increase All in favour. For: 126 Against: 19 Motion Carries.
- (ii) Motion of Bond Signing Officers All in favour. Against: 2 Motion Carries.

Motion to destroy proxies, moved by Rob Kielly, second by Merry Turtiak. All in favour. Carried.

- e) Advocacy: No report at this time.
- f) Internet Website (Scott): Encourage members to send in upcoming events to place on website. Motion: To accept report as presented, moved by Tim Ness, second by Bernie Chrisp. All in favour. Carried.
- g) Environmental Health Review (Nick Losito): Move acceptance of report by Nick Losito, second by Scott MacLean. Questions. All in favour. Carried.
- h) Historian (Tim Roark): Move acceptance of report by Tim Roark, second by Alex Murdoch. Questions. All in favour. Carried.
- i) Environmental Health Foundation of Canada (Klaus Seeger): Motion: To accept report as presented, moved by Klaus Seeger, second by Ken Cross. New Honorary Chair is John Blatherwick. All in favour. Carried.
- i) Conferences:
 - i) 2002 Fredericton (Scott MacLean) Verbal report presented. **Move acceptance** of report by Scott MacLean, second by Nick Losito. All in favour. Carried.
 - ii) 2003 Edmonton (Victor Mah) Verbal report presented. **Move acceptance of verbal report by Victor Mah, second by Ann Thomas.** All in favour. Carried.

14. New Business:

- a) Appointments to the Board of Certification: Suzanne Lychowyd-Shaw & Tim Ness Motion to approve appointments, moved by Tim Roark, second by Nick Losito. All in favour. Carried.
- b) Conference Bids: 2004 Prince Edward Island, 2005 Ontario
- c) Election of President Nominee Scott MacLean
- 15. Next Meeting: 2003 Edmonton Alberta
- 16. Adjournment: Motion: To adjourn meeting, moved by Ken Cross. All in favour. Carried.